New Chair of Governors for Downside School

We are pleased to announce that the Governors and Trustees have appointed Mr Adrian Aylward as Chair of Governors for Downside School.

Adrian, an existing Downside School Governor, was educated at Worth School and Oxford University, before spending nine years in the City and in Industry, latterly as CEO of a public company.  In 1992 he moved into education and was Head Master of Stonyhurst College (from 1996 to 2006) and subsequently Head Master of Leweston School, Dorset, until 2015. Since then Adrian has been working as an educational consultant; he is therefore eminently qualified to take on the role and will work closely with Andrew Hobbs.

Adrian Aylward is the new Chair of Governors at Downside School.

Adrian Aylward is the new Chair of Governors at Downside School.

The Governors have appointed Perrett Laver as recruitment consultants to assist the Governors and Trustees in finding the best possible Head for Downside. Perrett Laver are well known specialists with a global reach. The aim is to make an appointment early in the summer term. We will not rush an appointment and are confident, in the interim, that the School is in very good hands with Andrew Hobbs as acting Head. We shall keep you informed as matters progress.

As Downside looks to the future, the Trustees of Downside Abbey are exploring the possibility of the School becoming legally and financially separate from Downside Abbey. At present, senior School Staff are working on a new School Business Plan, in order to provide the basis on which a new School Trust can be built.  The anticipated separation will leave the School on a strong footing for the future that puts the safety and wellbeing of pupils at its heart. Downside will remain a Benedictine school in ethos and any new status will not preclude members of the Monastic Community being members of staff. We believe such a separation is in the interests of both School and Monastery and will allow both to thrive.

Click here to learn more about the governors of Downside School.